Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

[HOWTO] New Forums

Status
Not open for further replies.

abuzant3d

Level 4
Legacy Gold Member
Reaction score
Hello Everybody,

I have just finished developing a new discussion board that is powered by SMF. I have been doing the infrastructure of the forums for almost 2 months and have tried to make it cover all aspects of interest of the regular internet user.

My question is:

How to get people to those forums? How to develop the team of moderators? how to get it started in general.

I do not want to go register on all forums and spamming with some text like "posters wanted" or any other similar ways.. I want a neat start as for the forums to go neat all the way up (hopefully)

The domain name is SEO optimized, contains around 10 main boards and a total of over 300 forums and subforums in one very easy and user-friendly interface.

I am not willing to share the URL for now until i am ready with at least a team of 10 people to help moderating the whole system, i will not be able to handle the load of it all if it starts the way it should be starting. Please do not ask for any URLs.

If you are interested in vecoming a moderator, please PM me with some (all) details about yourself, your sites, expirience, etc.. and make sure to answer one question in your PM "why should i be accepted as a moderator?".

There is a wide range of areas of interest, please feel free to ask..

I am even thinking to make the forums system an ad-revenu sharing one. I still did not make this decision as i do not want anybody to say "he copied the DP" idea.. i did not ;) I am also thinking to have it free for all, where interested individuals can buy shares of the generated revenue. And btw, i have all the capabilities to do the needed programming. I am just unsure where and how to start exactly.

Please, feel free to post your suggestions, comments, etc..