• Welcome to DNForum.com - Domain Investor Forum, Free Domain Marketplace and a community for 45+ domain pros
    If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the oldest global domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 45,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, using our free in-house built tools, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Kenya Tech

Status
Not open for further replies.

sasquatch

Telling it like it is
The Originals
Legacy Platinum Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2003
Messages
1,089
Reaction score
0
And here I was thinking to myself naively all along what kinds of idiots are these Kenya Tech characters to be using 15 dollar Directnic domain registrations for tens of thousands of their appaling names...

it turns out Directnic owns Kenya Tech :drama: and they mine their visitors queries (at Directnic.com) and then register most of those names that visitors who queried didn't register themselves within 48 hrs.

Some business concept, eh?

Words of advice: avoid Directnic completely.

KenyaTechWatch.com
 
Thanks much for this info. I had a feeling something wasn't quite right! And their Kenya address certainly didn't leave me with any more confidence (pun intended) as it immediately reminded me of the "Nigerian scam."
 
What jerks. But I guess it's legal.
 
Perform a bunch of random useless queries at Directnic, see if they register them :-)
 
It is my understanding they won't register every query, but only those that make more sense. Like they won't register hgsjdfahjkasdhdajksdahf.com, but will register something like JoesBlueBalls.com

Also they will drop many of them within five days, if they don't get "can I buy it from you" email, or no visitors whatsoever during that time.
 
This is done by tens of companies for the last few months.
 
And one of the most closely watched "possible" Directnic drops--GAMERFORUM.COM!!--has instead been moved to Kenya Tech and has already been put into play and is being chased by several major players!?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top Bottom