• Welcome to DNForum.com - Domain Investor Forum, Free Domain Marketplace and a community for 45+ domain pros
    If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the oldest global domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 45,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, using our free in-house built tools, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Paypal Email - Scam?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gawnd

DNF Member
Legacy Exclusive Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2007
Messages
454
Reaction score
0
I know the paypal scam emails are as old as the net itself, but I just got one today that concerns me. This came from [email protected] and looks 100% legit. No bad grammar, URL looks straight. Is this an actual paypal notice - I am able to log in to my account (not by using provided link of course).

Anyone seen this before? Email copied below.

We recently determined that different multiple login attempts have been made on
your PayPal account. One employee of our Customer Service has tried to reach you
by phone. As we did not manage to contact you, this email has been sent to
your notice.

Therefore your account has been temporary suspended. We need you to confirm your
identity in order to regain full privileges of your account. If this is not completed
by August 22, 2007, we reserve the right to terminate all privileges of your account
indefinitely, as it may have been used for fraudulent purposes.

In order to confirm your identity please follow the link below and complete the requested information:

h$$p://www.paypal.com/

Thank you for your support in this matter.
PayPal - Customer Service
 
See if the link really leads to paypal.com and not something like h#tp://234.43.53.32/paypal.com

If you can still login to your account then it's most likely another physhing email.

~MG
 
yeah, scary thing is it did lead to http$://paypal.com/login.something with my user name but not pass autofilled. i checked in with paypal and they confirmed it was a phishing email.

just thought i'd bring this to the board though because i consider myself pretty good at sniffing out phishing but this one looks so legit its scary.
 
I get lots of those, but they all point to different phishing addresses when you click. not exactly paypal.com

Another thing you can do is check their ip and if it's the same as in the authentic emails from paypal

~MG
 
Johnn, how did you confirm your email when you registered at DNF? :lol:
 
didn't say my name anywhere - what i'm thinking is that they must have intended to put some redirect on the link but forgot to. looks like the email phish's to the actualy paypal site. lol.
 
"One employee of our Customer Service has tried to reach you..."

There's the giveaway - bad grammar.
 
All paypal emails if they are legit, will have your name, that email is a scam.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top Bottom