Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

hyperi0n

Hi guys

Can someone tell me if all names follow the same drop pattern?

For instance, some names go into a hold state after a certain period of time after the expiry date and then drop a few days later. Is the case for all names or do different registrars follow different patterns? Do some names drop without going into the hold state?

Thanks

Domain summit 2024

jester

Level 1
Legacy Gold Member
Reaction score
hi hyperi0n,

I am new to this domain name drop game so I am not completely sure but following is what I have found out.

when a domain expires, registar typically hold onto the domain for 30 to 60 days. this is called on hold period and varies depending on registar. during this period, only previous domain owner can register that domain.

After this on hold period is over, list of the onhold domains from that registar is released to registry. registry, i think verisign plays important role, will hold on to the list for 5 days, about 120 hours. The domain is put on soon to expire list here.

Then domain is finally released for registration at which point a fierce competition starts for registering the best domains.

I was also told this is pattern is not always followed. Some registar will actually release the domain right after it expires. And in some cases, registar will not release the domain for months or even years.

again, i am only a newbie in process of doing my homework. I would appreciate it if some experienced master can correct or comment.

DropWizard.com

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Can someone tell me if all names follow the same drop pattern?