• Welcome to DNForum.com - Domain Investor Forum, Free Domain Marketplace and a community for 45+ domain pros
    If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the oldest global domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 45,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, using our free in-house built tools, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

Scam email received

Status
Not open for further replies.

hugegrowth

New Member
Legacy Exclusive Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2005
Messages
5,992
Reaction score
150
Just thought I'd share this scam email i received. Probably the appraisal type scam.

-------------------

Hello,

Your domain was listed for sale.

Just send an email with your price in Euro or other currency

Our company is working on custom software and hardware projects for
several large corporation. Domain names is not our business but a new way
to earn on reselling. We are going to buy domains to resell them at
higher prices. Our company has a large database of clients interested in
good domains.

If you offer more domains for sale with good reselling potential
please email us your list.

Looking forward to do business with you.

Regards,
James Logsdon, Ph. D.
CEO
BON Systems

============================================================================
NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged
information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any
viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by
unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received
this
message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the
message
and deleting it from your computer.

===========================================================================
 
Yes, the bad grammar is the first sign, crowned with the adopted Ph.D.
 
Sadd this will never stop? isnt this illegal? its been around for years right?
 
Sadd this will never stop? isnt this illegal? its been around for years right?
Depends where it originates. As far as I know, UCE is illegal in the USA.
 
Used to get them every once awhile until I replied:

"Thank you for the email, in the meantime pls visit GFY.com"

Haven't rcvd one since.
 
...
 
Last edited:
Hmm. I must be missing something? It is obvious to me the guy does not have a Ph. D., as he writes like a high school student. The e-mail overall does not look like it originated from a business of any sort. But I am failing to see the "scam?"

Was the domain actually for sale? What harm could come from believing that e-mail? If you use Escrow to receive their funds, you should be fine... no?

The scam is in he will reply that he is interested in whatever price you name; Even if you say "My asking price is a-kajillion dollars!"

He will then respond with 'sold' but first could you get a paid appraisal for the name at some fake appraisal ran by them.

That is where the scam is, the fake appraisal service.
 
...
 
Last edited:
Same old scam.
Same Russian guys.

They don't even change their script.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top Bottom