Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Daily Diamond

Teach me how to install a script

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

patsensei

Hi I would like someone to help me install a script mysql database php. I have never done this before. I have MSN and maybe we can chat an install this together. I would really love to learn how to do this but no one around to teach :emba:
So if you have patience and would like to teach me please name your rate and let me know by PM. Thanks!

Register for the auction

blindchild

Level 4
Legacy Gold Member
Reaction score
Heres what i found out, will be much easier if you follow these steps (just thanks for the help will do, dont need anything else)

1. edit the configuration variables inside the php script (look for setup.php or config.php or something like this in the readme.txt).
2. You will need to set absolute paths most likely to directories if the script will be doing any file writing. The absolute path is the full path from the server to the directory you are writing to. Something like this (shown in red/green):

/home/usr/htdocs/datadir

The RELATIVE path is the path from public or html portion of the directory (shown in green above):

/datadir

3. If the script utilyzes a mySQL database then you will need to create the tables associated with the mySQL database. If the script doesn't come with a helper table creation script then you can use telnet. There is instructions on how to use telnet to create a mySQL table in one of my prior diary entries: click here for 7-07-00 diary

4. You will likely need to set UNIX permissions for any file/directory that the script must access. In doing so you should be given the permission settings in the readme file. If there is no readme then you might try the following:

chmod 666 filename.txt (any file that needs to be read/written by the php script)