Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
NDD Camp 2024

domain names tips

Status
Not open for further replies.

Romema

Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I have few basic questions about the importance of the domain name in relation to SEO.
I am not sure if this is the place to ask and if this is at all the kind of information people tend to share.
i am new to this stuff and before I buy some domains I will appreciate if you could let me in on what kind of domain names are better for SEO:

1. What is better- with or without dashes? (example: besthotels or best hotels)
2. Does the order matter? (ex: besthotels or hotelsbest).
3. What is the importance of .com verses .net verses .org verses the rest?
4. The shortness of the name? ex: hotels-best-hotels-best
5. Anything else?

Thank you for your help!

S

Latic

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Basically its what ever suits you and your business but also how easy it'll be for your customers.

1. i'd say without a dash, u'd be supprised the amount of people that just type the name without dashes you'd lose a considerable chunk of people getting lost of the way to your site.

2. if you can keep it in 'prefect' english again people will type the way they talk

3. .com will be the first thing people think of when they go on the internet for a website the only expection here in england is .co.uk, i dont know whether .co.uk would be more widely used by 'non internet' people.

4. shorter the better. Again the less words you have the less time someone can go wrong with typing. www.hotels.com would be typed in alot more accurately than www.hotels-in-a-place-you-might-not-know.com etc!

5. you dont have to go down the boring old hotels.com route. If your willing to try and build a brand around your 'product' then you can choose any short domain you want. This will take time, money and effort though.