Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

Upgrades to a dedicated server

Status
Not open for further replies.

mole

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I currently use shared server hosting. Which is extremely easy with FP publishing or FTP.

I was thinking of upgrading to a dedicated server to create and manage multiple web-sites.

Is it difficult to do so? I'm not a techie. Any guidelines are much appreciated.

Domain summit 2024

Dedicated servers aren't hard to manage - but you need to take particular care for security (patching known problems etc).

I've talked several complete newbies through managing dedicated (linux) servers for multiple domains in half an hour and they've been fine.

Tip: get a decent firewall and use secure passwords for everything.

mole

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Thanks for the advise, safesys.

I am thinking of a Win 2k IIS server solution. My host is Innerhost.

Is there a lot of differences with Linux solutions?

I used to use IIS on a virtual server I ran for my web clients (pre domain revenue days). I moved over to linux and recoded all the ASP sites to PHP for free becase I liked the features and reliability of Linux/Apache.

The combo I run of linux/apache/php/mysql/mod_gzip means its fast and very flexible for just about anything I need to do. mod_gzip is useful as it reduces the bandwidth of html to about a 10th of what it would be without compression.

Linux and IIS are very different beasts to manage/configure (unless you do it all by proprietary interfaces).

mole

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Originally posted by safesys
Linux and IIS are very different beasts to manage/configure (unless you do it all by proprietary interfaces).

Hi safesys,

Do you know which hosts have the best interfaces to manage dedicated W2k server solutions?