Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

Could buying VirginIslands.co trademark infringement?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Thoriso

Level 4
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I am looking into .co's but I am weary of trademark infringements. I noticed that people/businesses trademark places like Virgin Islands which is both a place and a trademarked item (currently Dead status)

Ofcourse the domain I am looking at is NOT VirginIslands.co but it suits this discussion. If I could have bought VirginIslands.co to develop as a real estate blog with Ads while the TM was alive did the owner have any recourse even though Virgin Islands specialized in alcoholic bevarages. (shown here: http://tess2.uspto.gov/bin/showfield?f=doc&state=4003:j3omv2.3.43)

Please help with any info.

snicksnack

DomainersChoice.com
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I am not a lawyer, but my common sense says, they could not get you on TM infrigement, as you would be in "real estate" about an existing place.

Thoriso

Level 4
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
That sucks because the search in such cases is high without big competition for SEO. I had a feeling you would say that.
Thanks for the validation though. Such a wasted opportunity.

snicksnack

DomainersChoice.com
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
That sucks because the search in such cases is high without big competition for SEO. I had a feeling you would say that.
Thanks for the validation though. Such a wasted opportunity.

sorry don't get it. Why does it suck ? If they cannot get you on TM issue, then you are good to go.

Thoriso

Level 4
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score