Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
NDD Camp 2024

.eu fiasco - help needed with article please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Azam.net

Azam Marketing, Inc.
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I'm a journalist and writing an article on the .eu debacle. The shambolic way so many things were handled really needs to be publicised. I was wondering if you could help me please.

I know a few cases of people registering absurd company names to acquire .eus in the Sunrise phase, such as Rus & Sia and San & Marino.

There were a few others which were totally ridiculous like (made this one up) d&o&m&a&i&n&s but now I can't find where I read about those.

Could you please let me know of the most ridiculous ones you came across?

Also, if anybody's got anything to say about how the landrush was handled, please PM me or post here and let me know if I can use your name and details or whether you'd prefer to remain anonymous. No obscenities please - I can't use those ;)

Thank you.

sasquatch

Telling it like it is
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I was the one who had big problem with the way Eurid allowed bogus TM's as evidence of prior use, but they specifically and publicly stated for the record that they were unable to comment on TM procedures of member states:

"EURid cannot comment on the effectiveness of the trademark laws and the work of the trademark offices in Europe"

http://www.eurid.eu/en/general/news/eurid-comments-on-the-issue-of-generic-domain-names

They weren't the ones who issued those TM's in the first place, so your beef should be with TM laws and TM offices in Benelux, and not with the Eurid.