Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

Expiration>Redemption>(Auction?)>Registry>Backorde rs>to Public? WHOIS MISLEADING?

Status
Not open for further replies.

quicksite

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi, Certified Newbie here, though have registered domains as an end user since 1995.

I've personally used, over the years, probably 20 different registrars for dotcoms, probably less, but it fees that many -- from networks solutions to valueweb to dotster to godaddy to 1and1 to website.in/answerable to hostmonster, snapnames, namejet, sedo, blah blah and many in between. It's always a mystery to me, no matter how many times people explain their process of expiration to redemption and when something goes back to registry for public availability to register a domain again.

Just when I thought I'd gotten it down at GoDaddy, there'd be some NEW "black box" variable that nobody could ever explain. Nobody has ever ever EVER been able to have been pinned down to give me exact unvarying methodology... but one long time veteran at GoDaddy did admit to me several years ago that registrar relationships and money play a role at ICANN regarding the sequencing of backorders and how they get fulfilled etc... and how even when something has been returned to registry, a GoDaddy can, under special considerations, grab it back, using "credits" or some mystery-meat term I can't remember.

Okay, that's my preamble.

Here's my reality.

I was going after this domain, via a backorder placed thru GoDaddy, under am assumption that the larger registrars do have some clout in that process -- if all other factors are equal in terms of when a backorder was placed. Sorry but i just have seen too much over the years to naively believe that some fairy godmother at ICANN ensures that the exact first backorder placed will FOR CERTAIN get the domain if it gets to that stage. Doesn't happen.