Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

Hello from San Francisco

Status
Not open for further replies.

quicksite

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I'm a web UX Designer -- that new term "User Experience" designer that folded together a whole bunch of specialized practice areas into an umbrella term that connotes you are advocating for the consumer or end user of a website -- and designing to achieve the marketing or business goals of the site but thru the lens of the end user based on a consumer's behavior and reaction to what he sees or perceives upon arrival to a site.

The specialty design areas UX has now come to umbrella include information architecture, navigation design, content structure design, visual transition design, interaction design, form submission design, transaction design (any registration or ecommerce system that proceeds along a sequence), wireframe design (page-layout from a generic content inclusion point of view, not its actual design layout) and demo/overview design that teaches user how to use the site.

The simpler way to think of it is this: UX design is like screenwriting is to a movie. It creates the entire experience and all choices and sweeping arc of content. Graphic Designers come along and develop the top layer, the look and feel, the branding and distinctive execution of everything that has been specified in the UX "script". UX is not engineering, though, sadly, when engineers assume that role, as they often do at Google, you end up with Google Wave.

I used to perform these services for others, but now I make websites for things I actually like and want to use, and if I can make them become profitable, I am happy.