Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

Need advice on buying a domain please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

AveUgotaWkdSide

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I know of a .com site thats gets around 1000 unique hits per day. I can get the same domain but with .co.uk. Before I do I would like some advice as I am new to domains and this would be my first one. I am only 16 so really need the advice from people with experience. I think I will park the domain. Do you think this would be a worth while purchase? Many Thanks Josh

katherine

Country hopper
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
First of all, are there possible trademark issues with the domain you are contemplating ?
Second and obvious point, the .co.uk would get (type-in) traffic only if the name is widely known in the UK.
If you were to reg youtube.co.uk for example, obviously it would get loads of traffic :)

AveUgotaWkdSide

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Well the website is a large forum based website, not to sure if there would be trademark issues

The domain is also avaliable in .us, what would be more profitable .us or .co.uk?

katherine

Country hopper
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
If you want to park your domain must have traffic. It's unlikely that a fresh registration will get significant natural traffic.

fatter

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
the us extension is used a lot less than the uk extentision imho in fact for typeins the us extension is pretty weak

james2002

Buying Premium Domains
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Look at google keyword tool and choose UK before you search the keywords in the domain. If people search the keywords in the domain in the UK at least about 1000 times (exact search), may be good idea but if not , it would be waste of money. I doubt it because it is a forum.

james2002

Buying Premium Domains