Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

Newbie - help with negotiating a parked domain purchase

AcousticWhisper

Level 1
Reaction score
Hi all,

Complete domain newbie here. I have a domain that I want to buy, but it's currently parked by an IT company. I was waiting to see if they let the renewal run out but unfortunately for me, they have renewed.

How do I go about approaching them to purchase the domain? I have contact details (email) but no idea where to start, so I was hoping to get some pointers from those more experienced than me before I jump in guns blazing.

Any and all advice is welcome.

Thanks

Domain summit 2024

Castion

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Its hard to give a satisfactory answer without knowing the domain name and the company in question.

But in general the honest and open approach will probably give you the best results.

AcousticWhisper

Level 1
Reaction score
I suggest you visit the domain purchasing sites
Could you point me in the right direction? As mentioned, complete newbie here :)

Thanks, Castion, I guess I'll just email enquiring if it is for sale and go from there.
I'm buying it for personal use, not trading it, so I wasn't sure because of the emotional drive if there were any big 'no-no's to avoid to stop them from essentially holding it hostage to get a higher price i.e. "if you want it that badly, we'll double the price"

Maybe something simple that doesn't sound overly keen, like...

Dear <company>,

I see that you own the domain <domain> and that it is currently unused. Is this planned to be used, or would you be open to selling this domain?

I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,
XXX

Castion

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score