Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
NDD Camp 2024

When to let a domain expire?

Status
Not open for further replies.

yowzator

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I'm too busy running my web service businesses to really get into domaining the way I would need to in order to make money with it. I'm an application developer and buy domains occasionally when I have an idea of a web service to offer. I rarely buy domains based on keywords, fads, and so forth. Most of my domains are specific to my ideas.

Unfortunately, I've found that I don't have the time to implement them all or do anything with most of them. So now I'm looking at my collection and thinking I should let some of them go. I've been building this collection for over a decade and it just doesn't make sense to keep them all.

I've had them all listed on Sedo for a year now, and actually sold one for $2K (siteport.com), but had very little interest in the others.

What types of things can I do to make some money on these domains instead of just letting them go? I see that I can list expiring domains for $20 BIN on this forum, but that hardly seems worth my time. The thing is that many of these domains aren't bad domains and could probably make some money if someone invested some time into them. Many are similar to sitport.com (for instance, I have siteengine.com, sitemill.com/.net, siteportal.com), but I have others like soccerarena.com, soccerarenas.com, groovee.com, grooveegirls.com, and many more. I'm sure many of you on this board would snatch up these domains if they were deleted.

Are there people out there that will do the marketing, site development, and other work of selling domains on behalf of someone else in exchange for a percentage of the sale? How would that best work?