Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

'Humans Causing Global Warming' - Fiction?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JuniperPark

Level 9
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I'm no scientist, but I thought it was odd to keep hearing that the whole
'humans are causing global warming' theory is "undisputed", when I keep
hearing sane, educated people disputing the idea which facts and references
to studies. When I was a kid they were telling us the earth was COOLING, and
that our fluorocarbons in spray cans were to blame for letting heat out by
thinning the ozone layer... so now it's suddenly a different (and opposing)
story?

If you haven't heard, that chart constantly used in the news from Nature
Magazine showing global temperatures spiking over the last few years have
been proven to be faked, and now even Discovery Channel is asking people to
not use the term "Global Warming" and call it "Climate Shift" instead.
Apparently the "shrinking glaciers" we keep read about have been shrinking
for centuries, and in fact many are growing. But, there is a lot of money
to be make and votes to be earned by keeping this myth going, so it's worth
looking into.

This Australian scientist built a web page which pretty well sums it all up:
http://home.austarnet.com.au/yours/Greenhouse_Bullcrap.htm

whitebark

Level 9
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
The VAST majority of recognized (that's the important part) scientists all see the human impact. The 'proof' from the deniers doesn't come close to the reams of information being put forward by the others.

There was also a mini-scandal a few years back where a paper was published by the deniers and low and behold - the paper was financed by the oil and gas industry.