Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Daily Diamond

quickie programming job - who's interested?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jack Gordon

Serial Entrepreneur
Legacy Exclusive Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
2,406
Reaction score
214
Feedback: 36 / 0 / 0
I need a devastatingly simple script written that allows me to import a long list of domains, and spits out html code of those same domains linked to the Sedo sale page.

The url looks like this: "http://www.sedo.com/search/details.php4?domain=ACTUALDOMAIN&language=us"

Anybody up to the challenge? I bet you could sell it many times over in this forum alone. Feel free to post or PM me your demands.
 
Domain Summit 2024

SedoCoUk

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
1,138
Reaction score
2
Feedback: 2 / 0 / 0
Hi,

actually, we from Sedo have a solution for your problem, we just need to modify an existing EXCEL script for this. We'll do that for you and come back to you tomorrow.

Tim
 

SedoCoUk

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
Messages
1,138
Reaction score
2
Feedback: 2 / 0 / 0
Hello from Sedo,

Ok - sorry it took so long - I had to translate it to English first!
Our new Excel sheet to enable bulk uploads to Sedo is ready - its new feature is URL forwarding facility. When you enter your domains to the Excel sheet, it automatically generates the URL to use to forward to Sedo.

We think this is what you were looking for, MovieDomains - just send me a quick email to [email protected] and I'll send it straight out to you as an attachment.

Please let us know if it is not suitable and we'll see if we can find something else.
I hope this helps!

Kind Regards,

Nora Cotter
Key Account Manager
_______________________________________________

SEDO.COM :: Buy and Sell Domain Names and Websites

tel +49 (221)-420-758-287 :: fax +49 (212)-202-3951
email: [email protected] :: url: www.sedo.com

_______________________ ::! make a name for yourself.
 

Jack Gordon

Serial Entrepreneur
Legacy Exclusive Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
2,406
Reaction score
214
Feedback: 36 / 0 / 0
actually, that is a nice feature, but it is not what I was looking for...

What I need is more than just the urls, I actually need html code that shows the domain, but links it directly to the "for sale" page (not the ppc page)

For example, I set up a limited sample of the end result I am looking for here: http://www.moviedomains.com/sedo-sample.htm

This is a simple table, listing each of the domains, linked to their Sedo "for sale" page. I want to be able to import a long list of domains, and have a program spit out the code to build this table.

Can anyone help me?
 

samscripts

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
180
Reaction score
0
Feedback: 0 / 0 / 0
Hi, try this short php script - it takes a list of domains in a text file:

PHP:
<?php

/*
	the text file containing your list of domains.
	Domains must be separated from each other by a newline, or any non-domain character.
	(Anything except a-z, 0-9, - and .)
*/
$domainfile = dirname(__FILE__).'/domains.txt';

/*
	html "template" to display for each domain.
	The tags {domain}, {sld} and {tld} will be replaced by the relevant values.
	eg, for sedo parking:

*/
$template = '<a target="_blank" href="http://www.sedo.com/search/details.php4?domain={domain}&language=us" style="text-decoration: none; font-weight: 700">{domain}</a><br />';

$dns = join("\n", file($domainfile));
$dns = preg_split('/[^a-z0-9.-]/i', $dns, -1, PREG_SPLIT_NO_EMPTY);

$domains = array();
foreach( $dns as $d ){
	$d = strtolower($d);
	$dotpos = strpos($d, '.');
	if( $dotpos ){
		$sld = substr($d, 0, $dotpos);
		$tld = substr($d, $dotpos+1);
		$domains[$d] = array('domain'=>$d, 'sld'=>$sld, 'tld'=>$tld);
	}
}

// sort the domains alphabetically...
asort($domains);

foreach( $domains as $d=>$bits){
	echo str_replace(array('{domain}', '{sld}', '{tld}'), 
									array_values($bits), $template);

}

?>

Or this online version

Hope that helps,

Sam :D
 

Jack Gordon

Serial Entrepreneur
Legacy Exclusive Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
2,406
Reaction score
214
Feedback: 36 / 0 / 0
I love it! This is exactly what I wanted - thank you!

But... you are dealing with a programming idiot. How do I take that script and make it work on my site?

btw... I have donated all of my $DNF to you - enjoy :)
 

samscripts

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
180
Reaction score
0
Feedback: 0 / 0 / 0
MovieDomains said:
I love it! This is exactly what I wanted - thank you!

:)

to use it on your site...

1) create a file called "domains.txt" containing the domains you want to list, with each one separated by a comma, newline or other character that can't appear in a domain name.

2) in the page for your site where you want the domains to be listed, just copy and paste the code above. Your server needs to support php (obviously), and you may need to give the page a .php extension so the server processes the php code.

eg. for a working page..., save the code below as "mydomains.php"...

PHP:
<html>
<head>
<title>My Domains</title>
</head>
<body>
<h3>My Domains</h3>
<!-- change anything above this line with whatever goes on your site -->
<?php

/* 
    the text file containing your list of domains. 
    Domains must be separated from each other by a newline, or any non-domain character. 
    (Anything except a-z, 0-9, - and .) 
*/ 
$domainfile = dirname(__FILE__).'/domains.txt'; 

/* 
    html "template" to display for each domain. 
    The tags {domain}, {sld} and {tld} will be replaced by the relevant values. 
    eg, for sedo parking: 

*/ 
$template = '<a target="_blank" href="http://www.sedo.com/search/details.php4?domain={domain}&language=us" style="text-decoration: none; font-weight: 700">{domain}</a><br />'; 

$dns = join("\n", file($domainfile)); 
$dns = preg_split('/[^a-z0-9.-]/i', $dns, -1, PREG_SPLIT_NO_EMPTY); 

$domains = array(); 
foreach( $dns as $d ){ 
    $d = strtolower($d); 
    $dotpos = strpos($d, '.'); 
    if( $dotpos ){ 
        $sld = substr($d, 0, $dotpos); 
        $tld = substr($d, $dotpos+1); 
        $domains[$d] = array('domain'=>$d, 'sld'=>$sld, 'tld'=>$tld); 
    } 
} 

// sort the domains alphabetically... 
asort($domains); 

foreach( $domains as $d=>$bits){ 
    echo str_replace(array('{domain}', '{sld}', '{tld}'), 
                                    array_values($bits), $template); 

} 

?>
<!-- change anything below this line with whatever goes on your site -->
</body>
</html>

The file "domains.txt", containing your domain names needs to be in the same folder as this page.

Here's that script in action

Alternatively, if you won't be updating your site often, just use the online version and copy and paste the html it generates into your own page wherever you want it (no need to use php yourself that way).

If anyone wants a copy for there own use, download it here (right click and save as...and change the file extension from .txt to .php).

ps Thanks a lot for all the DNF :D - I think you just increased my dnf count by about 25x!

let me know if you need any more help with it.

cheers,

Sam :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

The Rule #1

Do not insult any other member. Be polite and do business. Thank you!

Sedo - it.com Premiums

IT.com

Premium Members

AucDom
UKBackorder
Register for the auction
MariaBuy

New Threads

Our Mods' Businesses

UrlPick.com

*the exceptional businesses of our esteemed moderators

Top Bottom