Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

Why Use WordPress for Niche Websites? Better SEO from the Start?

wordplay

Level 7
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi,

After years of kicking around this forum, I'm finally realizing that maybe I could make a few dollars with niche websites.

So here is my absolute noob question: why bother with WordPress, as opposed to uploading my own adsense niche templates to my server? Is it that a WordPress site will be picked up better/faster than anything I could put up and optimize?

Thank you very much in advance.

dcristo

Level 9
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
In a nutshell, its easy to familiarize yourself with the software, its feature rich and well supported by the WP community.

The better question is, why wouldn't you use wordpress?

draggar

þórr mjǫlnir
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
WP is very easy to learn and use (even more if you have some knowledge of HTML / CSS / PHP).

Countless "free" templates are out there and it isn't that hard to modify them (or you can use a program to make templates). It's also easy to add in your own items like AdSense, or just general ads (plus plugins like Ad Rotate will let you rotate and manage ads easily).

Search Engines like WP a lot and if you update it 2-3 times a week it'll help even more.

The only drawback of WP is it's limitations (style, etc.) but even it's limits are diminishing with new plugins popping up every day. It's great for sites that get frequent updates but other CMS like Joomla would be better for more static sites.

IMO it's very "bloggy" looking (which is great for blogs and related sites). It may also look a little unprofessional unless you spend some good $$ on a good template.

dcristo

Level 9
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
WP is very easy to learn and use (even more if you have some knowledge of HTML / CSS / PHP).